top of page

Outlast: Geeks Will Gather


Zombie Armageddon!


That is where the Prologue of "Outlast: Geeks Will Gather" by Shane Lassetter begins. I always read prologues and epilogues. They were put there for a reason. I should know I use them often. So I open my copy of this great book and read this battle cry. I'm instantly hooked. For those of us who enjoy zombies, we're usually geeks and the closest thing we've come to take them on is Scouts Guide To The Zombie Apocalypse. This book truly jumped at the moment Shane asked me to read it. Totally glad I did. Let me count the ways.

First, let me get a couple issues off my chest. Shane, I'm sorry, but I have to be honest in my review. There are a few grammar issues, some formatting that needs to be tweaked, and some show vs tell issues, but and this is a BIG BUTT...These are easily fixable. I'm not always the best in this department. I keep editors in the business. In fact, most of the mistakes I noticed would be cleared up by downloaded Grammarly. It's free. I'm using it right now.

On a better lovey-dovey note. These characters crack me up. One second they're running around "like chickens with their heads cut off" the next they are wondering if they should have felt bad to smashes the crap out of a zombie stripper because she was probably trying to put herself through college. Hand to God, I snorted.

The nostalgia for the gaming references was wicked fun. Think bigger geekdom than Ready Player One. One form of game style was mentioned after the other, and how it prepared them for the end of days. I'm talking World of Warcraft, Call of Duty, and Magic the Gathering.

Aside from the funny and nostalgic is the real sense of life. When the chaos hits close to home for a family of five: Michael, Ann, Aaron, Wayne and the mother-in-law Kay, the reality sharpens. Shane Lassetter has a great way of bringing the danger alive. Quick sentences. Not a lot of detail leaves a great deal to the imagination. The brisk pace fills you with adrenaline.

I highly recommend this book and the rest in the series. You can learn more by following Shane Lassetter by clicking on any of these links. Or purchase your own copy of his books. Outlast Books Available Here Shane Lassetter's Facebook Shane Lassetter's Twitter Shane Lassetter's Instagram

Shane had a statement for you all: Please enjoy. Think about how you would react in a more realistic zombie apocalypse or if you were a man trying to serve justice when the law no longer does its job. Talk to me. I welcome good and bad criticism. It can only help me as a writer (wannabe). Stay tuned for much more. Thank you for giving me a chance.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page